Skip to main content

Official SC Villa Website

The Jogoos set to Compete in Rescheduled CECAFA Kagame Cup

Seventeen-time Startimes Uganda Premier League champions are set to represent the nation in the forthcoming Council of East and Central Africa Football Association (CECAFA) Kagame Cup, slated to start on July 6th and end on July 22nd, 2024, in Tanzania and Zanzibar.

The competition, which was earlier planned to take place from July 20th to August 4th in Tanzania, has been rescheduled due to the busy CAF calendar, kicking off earlier and ending a few days before the start of the 2024/2025 CAF Club competitions.

The CECAFA Senior Challenge Cup 2024, originally scheduled to open the CECAFA calendar from June 29th to July 14th, has also been cancelled to give players more time to prepare with their teams ahead of the CECAFA Kagame Cup.

A total of 16 teams will grace the tournament this July. The other participating teams include; Vital ‘O (Burundi), APR FC (Rwanda), El Merreikh, Al Hilal, Hai El Wadi (Sudan), Young Africans SC, Simba SC, Azam FC, Coastal Union FC (Tanzania), Gor Mahia FC (Kenya), JKU SC (Zanzibar), El Merreikh FC-Bentiu (South Sudan), Nyasa Big Bullets FC (Malawi), TP Mazembe (DR Congo), and Red Arrows FC (Zambia).

The CECAFA Kagame Cup was last held in the 2020/21 season and was won by Express Football Club(Uganda). The Jogoos will be looking to improve their CECAFA trophies tally since the establishment of the tournament.